McLean County Farm Bureau

2023 Year End Highlights

Reflecting on 2023 as we look ahead to 2024 – together we’ll keep keep advocating for agriculture, serving our members & giving back to our communities!

Read More »

Giving Back for Giving Tuesday

McLean County Farm Bureau Community Engagement committee contributed to several local nonprofit organizations in honor of “Giving Tuesday.” Baby Fold – diapers & wipes Brightpoint Crisis Nursery – diapers &

Read More »
RSS FarmWeek Feed
RSS FarmDoc Daily
  • Cover Crops and Covered Cropland, 2022 US Census of Agriculture
    Area in cover crops increased less between 2017 and 2022 than between 2012 and 2017. Moreover, other covered cropland has declined including cropland in commercial fall-seeded crops, land in the Conservation Reserve Program, and pasture and forage land that can be converted into cropland without additional improvement. These findings raise questions about current US policy […]
  • Farm Loan Interest Rates by Geographic Region
    Interest rates for short-term loans were not statistically different between Farm Credit System lenders and banks in any region, and real estate loans were only statistically different between FCS lenders and banks in the West. In the Midwest, vendors had lower median rates for intermediate loans relative to banks and FCS lenders. In the Plains […]
  • The United States, Brazil, and China Soybean Triangle: A 20-Year Analysis
    The recent history of the US-Brazil-China soybean trade triangle points to a trade-off between resiliency and growth in commodity marketing. The U.S. has managed to diversify its soybean use which may make markets for U.S. soybeans more resilient in the face of future shocks. However, it has failed to capture the growth in global soybean […]